Empower Yourself & Improve Your Health with Ayurveda

Hi!  I hope you are all doing well.  I haven’t been posting as regularly because lots of changes are happening for me and I’m busy with the transition and just trying to stay grounded and focused!  A few people have asked, though, and I truly appreciate your interest!  I hope you always let me know what has been helpful or not as well, and if you have any specific topics you’d like me to explore.

I have been studying and practicing more Ayurveda lately, so I thought I’d share some of the techniques I’ve tried.  I hope you enjoy them, too!  Ayurveda is a 5,000-year-old medical system that focuses on natural health and the individual’s power to establish and maintain good health.  It is “the art of daily living in harmony with the laws of nature … to maintain the health of a healthy person and to heal the disease of an unhealthy person … Both prevention (maintenance of good health) and healing are carried out by entirely natural means” (Lad, 1998, p. 1).  Ayurveda and Yoga go hand-in-hand.  

Some of the daily morning practices I’ve espoused and found to be very effective are tongue scraping, oil pulling, drinking warm lemon water, meditating and/or doing yoga asana (usually sun salutations or variation) for about 20-30 minutes, and starting the day with a green smoothie.  I also dry brush my skin before bathing and do self-massage with oils on a regular basis.  Ayurveda recommends doing this before a shower, but I usually do it after.  It’s important to find what works for your specific constitution.  It gets easier as time goes on.  Making many changes at once can be daunting, so I’d recommend starting out slowly and enjoying the process, not putting pressure on yourself.  Try one or more of these practices and see if they make a difference in your life!  

Here’s another one that feels pretty good (Lad, 1998, p. 252):

Image

Lad, V. 1998. The Complete Book of Ayurvedic Home Remedies.Three Rivers Press: New York, NY, 326p. 

Leave a Reply

