Food for a Healthy Body & Mind – Cauliflower Rice, Walnut Meatballs, and Quinoa Pizza!

Yoga and healthy eating go perfectly together!  So today, I am going to share three very healthy, delicious, and easy recipes with you.  I absolutely love to cook and bake and I have a passion for healthy, delicious foods.  I spend a fair amount of time researching and trying out new things, so I will share some ideas from time to time.  All the recipes I’ll share will be vegan or vegetarian, and they are tested on omnivores.  I won’t include them here unless they love them, too.  You don’t need to be vegetarian or vegan to enjoy this stuff! 

Cauliflower Rice

You can use cauliflower as a rice substitute in any recipe or just on its own.  Even if you don’t like cauliflower, there’s a good chance you will like it this way.  I won’t give any specific required amounts for ingredients – that depends on how many people you’re feeding or whether you want to save any.  Half a head of cauliflower = two good-sized servings.  It does freeze fine, I’ve heard (though I’ve never tried because it’s delicious and I eat it right away)! 

So take some cauliflower, cut it up (or you can buy it pre-cut), put it in the food processor and pulse/chop it until it resembles the consistency of rice.  Next, in a frying pan over medium heat, add a small amount of coconut (or other) oil to coat the pan.  Optional: add some finely-chopped onions (and minced fresh garlic if desired) and sauté until clear-golden.  Add the cauliflower “rice” and stir fry for approximately 4-5 more minutes.  Add whatever spice you like – I’ve used cumin, coriander, parsley, basil, salt & pepper, fresh herbs, etc. – those or a combination are all great, and there are limitless options.  Now you’re ready to use it however you want – in another recipe or on its own!  Lasts about 5-7 days in the fridge or you can freeze it in airtight bags.

cauli rice

Walnut Meatballs 

These are amazing – definitely my favorite non-meat balls I’ve ever tried.  I’ve shared them with several meat-eaters, too, and they stand up to the test.  The texture is very much like a regular meatball, and they taste great.  You can bake them in sauce of your choosing or on their own in the oven.  They can be frozen for future meals.  I adapted this recipe from Taste of Home.  

Ingredients:

2 eggs, lightly beaten

3 egg whites, lightly beaten

1 small onion, finely chopped

3 T minced fresh parsley (or any herb)

1 ½ tsp. seasoning (I mix it up, but most recently used a combination of coriander, white pepper, sage, basil, and oregano)

2 garlic cloves, minced

½ teaspoon salt

1 cup of breadcrumbs

¼ cup of flaxseed meal (if you don’t have this, just use more breadcrumbs, or finely crushed reduced sodium saltines as the original recipe suggests)

¾ cup ground walnuts (I chop them up with a knife; you can use a food processor or coffee grinder, too)

¾ cup nutritional yeast (find this in Whole Foods’ bulk section or Bob’s Red Mill and Bragg have packaged versions – this can be a great cheese alternative)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  In a large bowl, combine the first seven ingredients.  Next, stir in the breadcrumbs, flaxseed meal, walnuts, and nutritional yeast.  Coat hands with cooking spray and form 1-inch balls.  Either spray baking pan or put meatballs in a casserole dish with one approximately 25-ounce jar of sauce (or homemade, even better).  I used Trader Joe’s Arrabiata Sauce – but don’t limit it to Italian-style sauces – the original recipe uses apricot BBQ sauce.  So many options!  It can also be nice to bake them separately from the sauce so you can use them later in other recipes/sauces.  Recipe yields approximately 32 meatballs.  

walnut balls * Photograph from tasteofhome.com

 

Here’s another awesome recipe that I love and find indispensable.  Make sure to check out the rest of the Henry Happened blog, too.  It’s an excellent resource! 

Quinoa Pizza Crust

I am so thankful I found this recipe!  It is simple and delicious, filling and satisfying in every way.  I never thought I could do pizza without cheese (or sauce, for that matter), but this recipe is awesome and you really don’t need either.  That being said, you could also use the crust for any pizza of your own creation!  It doesn’t fall apart; it has a consistency similar to “regular” pizza in that you can pick it up with your hands, unlike some pizza crust substitutes that fall apart and must be eaten with a fork.  I have also made the crust on its own and then cut it up and used it as bread, to top with hummus or other sauces, or as a side to a meal or a salad.  It is very versatile!  It’s also full of protein.  

 

Eating whole, plant-based foods can treat and prevent a wide variety of ailments, from cancer to heart disease to diabetes.  It can be difficult at first to accept the fact that the American diet many of us have been raised on isn’t all that healthy.  Making changes can be challenging, but once you start to discover new flavors and foods and begin to feel a whole lot better it is hard to go back! 

I hope you enjoy these recipes as much as I do, and I would love any feedback – what you thought when you tried these recipes, any great healthy food blogs/websites you want to share, or other recipes of your own!  

Cooking can be very meditative and knowing you are feeding yourself healthy, delicious foods is very nourishing mentally, emotionally, and physically!  Enjoy experimenting!

 

4 Comments

  1. I use riced cauliflower a lot and love it. The meatballs look fabulous too.

    • Yes – I was never a big fan of cauliflower (take it or leave it) but I love it this way! The walnut balls are awesome! I hope you enjoy them. 🙂

  2. I just checked out that quinoa pizza crust recipe, and it looks great! I can’t wait to give it a try!

    • Hey, thanks for stopping by! I bet you will love the quinoa pizza crust…enjoy!

Leave a Reply

