A Few of My Favorite Yoga Products

yogaproducts

I, like many yoga practitioners and teachers, am a bit disheartened by the commercialization of yoga.  So much of what yoga is really about gets drowned out by the media telling us how we should look and act.  Yoga is an individual pursuit for a higher consciousness/health.  What you wear, what yoga mat you use, and how much money you spend on props and other tools aren’t necessarily related in any way.  That being said, sometimes having a comfortable and flattering outfit enables us to more easily get to class.  Owning a yoga mat or a meditation cushion is great motivation for a home practice.  The following are some of my favorite yoga products, which I’ve discovered over the years.  I hope they will be as helpful to you as they have been to me!

Jade Yoga Mat

The Jade yoga mat is by far my favorite that I’ve tried.  I first purchased one years ago when I was practicing mostly hot yoga.  I was sliding all over my other mats, even the ones they rented out at the studio.  (Who wants to use one of those germ-infested things anyway?!)  The Jade mat is great — my hands and feet feel very stable and supported.  It does not get slippery, even when completely drenched.  It holds up after much wear and tear.  It is easy to clean and comes in attractive colors.  You can also purchase an extra-long one if you’d like (just be aware of the extra room it may take up in a class).

Gaiam Yoga Blocks

These are my favorite yoga blocks.  They are strong and stable yet they provide a bit of flexibility, making them comfortable to place under your head or behind your back as you relax into a pose.

Hugger Mugger Cork Yoga Block

These blocks provide a bit more stability but I find them a little uncomfortable to place under my back in Bridge pose, for example.  They are great for Ardha Chandrasana or other poses where you are just trying to stabilize your hand(s).

Prana Yoga Top

Prana yoga tops are very comfortable and come in beautiful colors and styles.  They provide plenty of flexibility while maintaining good coverage where you need it most.  This is a link to a women’s top because I specifically own this; however, I’m sure their men’s clothing is also excellent quality.

Bean Meditation Cushion

It’s great to have your own meditation cushion and spot in your home where you meditate (whether it be for five minutes or an hour) daily around the same time.  Just having the cushion in your spot and seeing it every day will help to establish a daily ritual.  Not only that, but it is so soft and comfortable, allowing you to relax deeply as you focus on your breath.

I hope this list helps you if you are looking for some great yoga products to enhance your practice!  I’d love to hear about your own favorites, as well.

Leave a Reply

