Day of Silence

beach

I had a very cool, meditative day of silence recently, and I wanted to share my experience with you in the hopes that you may try it for yourself one day!  It was a beautiful gift.

It was sort of my version of a short, silent meditation retreat, without the rigidity of sitting cross-legged for hours alternating with walking meditation, as many silent retreats include.  There is a purpose to that structure, but a day of silence can be done at any time in any place, on your own, for free.  I did this with a partner, which I think made the experience even richer, but you could do this by yourself as well.

My significant other had said months ago that one day he’d like to have an entire day of silence.  Togetherness, but in silence.  The only way we would communicate would be with our eyes and gestures — no spoken words, no writing.  Of course, I was intrigued.  

He thought a day at the beach would be perfect for this meditation.  So we planned it to be during our vacation to Costa Rica.  We were lucky enough to be able to have this day on a beautiful beach when we had no other responsibilities.  It could be done anywhere, however.  If you can plan it on a day off from work when you can relax in nature, even better.

We talked during breakfast, but after that it was silence until sundown.  We were in Mal Pais, Costa Rica, a chill surf town on the southern tip of the Nicoya Peninsula.  We drove north along a very bumpy dirt road until we reached Playa Manzanillo, a remote beach we were able to drive right onto (a first for both of us).  No other humans were there.

The entire day I felt truly immersed in the beauty of nature, noticing the tiniest details.  I collected small, colorful shells and created “art” in the sand.  I noticed all the tiny pink, red, blue, and white smooth stones dispersed throughout the sand.  I felt the warm sun on my skin and the salt water supporting me as I floated on my back.  We communicated with our eyes, with our smiles.  No words were necessary.  His body language was clear.  Time stood still.  I went for a walk on my own down the beach, reveling in the soft breeze.  I felt blessed and at peace.  I felt completely relaxed and free, childlike, playing in the sand.  I saw things from a different, more appreciative perspective.  I really paid attention, without even trying, to all the little details that make this world beautiful.  

We slipped up a couple of times, in the most random ways — he mentioned on the road back that there was “a lot of traffic today” and I translated a sign I thought was funny (he doesn’t speak any Spanish).  Otherwise, though, silence prevailed and our day was peaceful bliss.  Once the sun went down, I was almost inclined to continue the silence!  He said he couldn’t wait to talk to me again.  So it enabled us to appreciate each other in a different way, to be in tune with nature, and to miss each other in a sense.  We are making this a tradition!

If you have any similar ideas or do try this, I’d love to hear about your experience!  Please feel free to comment!

8 Comments

  1. Reblogged this on Dreaming With Dolphins.

  2. I enjoyed this post! 😉

    • Thank you! Let me know how it goes if you ever try it! 🙂

      • I think it’s a romantic thing, too! 😉 I love it 🙂

  3. Lauren Gunston

    This is really inspiring! I will do this someday and like you, it will definitely be at the beach! And, I think I will get my husband on board easily and maybe we will find ourselves in the mountains, hiking.

    I am so happy that you have found so much love and contentment, my friend!

    • A silent day hiking in the mountains is such a great idea! I may have to use that one… 🙂 I hope you come back and share your story when you try it! Sending love to you!

Trackbacks

  1. Day of Silence | Dreaming With Dolphins
  2. Day of Silence | Circle of the Dolphins

Leave a Reply

